Red SheetSubscribe

Malaysian Coin Values

1824 - 2013

Malaysia originated from the Malay Kingdoms, most of which from the 18th century became subject to the British Empire. The coins of various states covered in this reference include Straits Settlements, British North Borneo, Sarawak and the later states of British Malaya and Borneo. The Blue Sheet provides retail values for coins from these states to the Sheldon numerical standard designed to be used with PCGS and NGC certified coins and provides a fascinating insight into the history of Southeast Asia through its circulating coins.

In 1826 Singapore was amalgamated with the port of Malacca and Penang to form the Straits Settlements under the administration of the East India Company and while the Spanish dollar was initially suffice as a medium of exchange, the lack of low denomination coins soon became a serious burden on the economy. In 1842 the Governor of the Straits Settlements reported on the hardships faced in the colony from a lack of copper coinage stressing on the losses faced by the lower classes from the fluctuation in value of privately issued tokens and requested that 50,000 rupees of copper coinage with the denominations of one cent, half cent and quarter cent be struck for the colony. In 1845 these coins were issued providing immediately relief for the colony.

The first coins to bear the Malayan legend were issued in 1939 and this design would continue until 1950 except for brief pauses during the Japanese occupation of the region. In 1953 the currency then unified with the British North Borneo dollar and the newly issued coins bore the legend Malaya and British North Borneo. These coins continued to be struck until 1962 before the Federation of the states of Malaysia.

East India Company1824 - 45British India1862Sarawak1863 - 1941Straits Settlements1871 - 1935British North Borneo1882 - 1941British Trade Dollars1895 - 1935British Malaya1939 - 50Malaya and British North Borneo1953 - 62Federation1967 - 2013
Values for higher grade coins are only available with a subscription, for subscription options, please click here.   MintageF12VF20XF40AU50MS62Type II1996 Five Sen51,812,5290. II1997 Five Sen7,703,8500. II1998 Five Sen1,293,910,2330. II1999 Five Sen79,224,0000. II2000 Five Sen61,198,5280. II2001 Five Sen94,617,4720. II2002 Five Sen85,316,0000. II2003 Five Sen75,690,0000. II2004 Five Sen11,520,0000. II2005 Five Sen119,520,0000. II2006 Five Sen87,120,0000. II2007 Five Sen97,200,3380. II2008 Five Sen91,440,0000. II2009 Five Sen125,172,8420. II2011 Five SenUnknown     Type I1967 Ten Sen106,708,0000.941.503.103.909.70Type I1968 Ten Sen128,292,0000.941.503.103.909.70Type I1971 Ten Sen32,23693150310390780Type I1973 Ten Sen214,832,7560.460.781.501.907.80Type I1976 Ten Sen148,840,7380.520.861.702.1037Type I1977 Ten Sen52,720,0610.140.220.460.5810Type I1978 Ten Sen21,161,8910.340.581.101.4025Type I1979 Ten Sen50,633,3260.140.220.460.5810Type I1980 Ten Sen51,797,3932223324264Type I1981 Ten Sen236,638,9570.140.220.460.5810Type I1982 Ten Sen145,638,9620.140.220.460.5810Type I1983 Ten Sen30,831,5730.180.280.580.7212Type I1988 Ten Sen17,852,2620.460.781.501.9033Type II1990 Ten Sen132,982,3760. II1989 Ten Sen32,391,7680.180.280.580.7212Type II1991 Ten Sen133,293,2800. II1992 Ten Sen89,919,4000. II1993 Ten Sen44,224,2320. II1994 Ten Sen7,122,2220.120.200.380.488.40Type II1995 Ten Sen82,217,4040. II1996 Ten Sen77,347,1250. II1997 Ten Sen78,955,8620. II1998 Ten Sen1,966,056,7460. II1999 Ten Sen163,080,0000. II2000 Ten Sen162,940,0000. II2001 Ten Sen313,422,0000. II2002 Ten Sen290,451,9480. II2003 Ten Sen8,640,0000. II2004 Ten Sen170,640,0000. II2005 Ten Sen316,800,0000. II2006 Ten Sen304,560,0000. II2007 Ten Sen237,967,9700. II2008 Ten Sen241,560,0000. II2009 Ten Sen336,150,8000. II2010 Ten SenUnknown     123456789101112131415161718192021222324